Introduction of China University of Mining & Technology-Beijing

Giving priority to engineering among other disciplines of science, liberal arts, management, law and economics, China University of Mining & Technology-Beijing is a state key university with mining features. Being listed into the national “985 Project” and the “211 project”, it is also one of the first universities for the Strategic Alliance of Industrial Technology Innovation and one of the first universities authorized to confer doctor and master degrees. The predecessor of China University of Mining & Technology was Jiaozuo School of Railroad and Mines in 1909. In 1950 the school moved from Jiaozuo to Tianjin and was renamed China Institute of Mining & Technology (CIMT). In 1952 in the nationwide restructuring of universities and colleges, the mining engineering departments of Tsinghua University, the former Beiyang University, and Tangshan Institute of Railroad were merged into CIMT. In 1953 CIMT moved to Beijing and was renamed Beijing Institute of Mining & Technology and in 1970s the Institute moved to Sichuan Province. In 1978, the Institute restored its former name CIMT. In 1988 the Institute was formally named China University of Mining & Technology (CUMT). In February 2000, CUMT was transferred to the administration of China Ministry of Education and became one of the state universities directly supervised by the Ministry.

Currently CUMT-Beijing consists of one graduate school and 10 academic schools. It has a total of over 740 faculty and staff members. Among the academic staff, there are 10 academicians of Chinese Academy of Sciences and Chinese Academy of Engineering (including 5 honorary academicians of CUMT-Beijing), 125 supervisors for doctoral students and 130 supervisors for master students, 109 full professors and 104 associate professors. At present, the total number of students in CUMT-Beijing exceeds 10,000 persons. CUMT-Beijing has 8 national key disciplines, 12 provincial key disciplines, 9 first grade disciplines conferring doctor and master degrees. It also possesses 8 “211Project” construction programs during the eleventh Five-Year-pan period, 8 disciplines offering positions for special appointed professors by the name of “Cheung Kong Scholar Program” and 11 post doctoral research stations. CUMT-Beijing offers 50 specialties for doctoral students, 96 specialties for master students and 62 specialties for undergraduates. It owns 2 State Key Laboratories and one National Engineering Research Center, together with one key laboratories and 2 engineering research centers listed by China Ministry of Education, one key laboratory listed by Beijing Municipal Government, and more than 20 laboratories in various disciplines. In 2007, CUMT-Beijing built “Zhongguancun Energy and Safety Science and Technology Park” and the “CUMT Enterprise Park for Returned Overseas Scholars”, which is the first science and technology park characterized by energy and safety in China.

CUMT-Beijing has made great efforts to improve international academic exchanges and scientific cooperation. The university has established educational ties with dozens of foreign universities and academic organizations. It has undertaken many symposiums, which had been convened for the first time in Asia and in a developing country. In August 1999, the International Symposium on Mining Science & Technology (’99 ISMST) was successfully held at CUMT-Beijing. In April 2001, the 29th International Symposium on computers Applications in Mineral Industries (APCP, 2001) was also held at this university. In September 2006, the 23rd Annual Conference of the Society for Organic Petrology (TSOP) was held at this university. The university has established inter-university cooperation with such famous universities as University of Nottingham, University of Leeds, Pennsylvania State University and Russia University of Mining and Technology in Moscow. In December 2007, the university was selected as one of the first universities in “China Scholarship Council Postgraduate Scholarship Program” by China Ministry of Education.

In the 21st century, following the principle of “Making scientific plans, consolidating existent achievements, Progressing with its own features, Aiming to the best”, CUMT-Beijing will strive to make the university an open, multidisciplinary, research-oriented and the best quality university both at home and abroad.

版权所有:中国矿业大学(北京) 国际交流与合作处

通讯地址:北京市海淀区学院路丁11号 邮编:100083